PDP, over 30 Parties form Coalition (Full Party List)

Browse By

Spread the love

Nigeria’a main opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Monday successfully formed an alliance with over 30 political parties and announced a new name for the a amalgamation called Coalition of United Political Parties (CUPP).

According to the announcement, it followed the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) by the leaders of the parties.

The coalition was formed to defeat the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, in the forthcoming 2019 election.

In the veiw of many Nigerians, the APC has not fulfilled its campaign promises to the electorate.

At Musa Yar’Adua’s Centre in Abuja, those in attendance include, Former President Olusegun Obasanjo-backed African Democratic Congress (ADC), Social Democratic Party of Nigeria (SDP), National Conscience Party (NCP), Labour Party, and a host of other newly registered parties. PDP National Chairman Uche Secondus, Former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, Former Senate President David Mark, R-APC Chairman Buba Galadima, and Senator Dino Melaye, among others.


The polutical parties that signed the MOU were the Action Alliance (AA), Alliance for Democracy (AD), Africa Democratic Party (ADC), Action Democratic Party (ADP), All Grand Alliance Party (AGAP), Action Peoples Party (APP), Advanced Congress of Democrats (ACD), Better Nigeria Progressive Party, Democratic Alternative (DA), Democratic Peoples Party (DPC), Grand Democratic Party of Nigeria (GDPN), Green Party of Nigeria (GPN), KOWA Party, Labour Party (LP), Mass Action Joint Alliance (MAJA), Masses Movement of Nigeria (MMN). Others included the National Conscience Party (NCP), New Generation Party (NGP), National Unity Party (NUP), Nigeria Intervention Movement (NIM), Peoples Alliance for National Development and Liberty (PANDEL), Peoples Progressive Party (PPP), People for Democratic Change (PDC), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Providence People’s Congress (PPC), Reformed All Progressive Congress (RAPC), Restoration Party of Nigeria (RPN), Social Democratic Party (SDP), Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN), All Grassroots Alliance (AGA), National Interest Party (NIP), Nigeria Democratic Congress Party (NDCP), Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA), and Young Democratic Party (YDP) among others.