Banker, Wamakko Others Bag 2019 Media Award

A leading online news portal, Politics Today, has honoured several eminent Nigerians of outstanding qualities with various categories of awards while marking its one year anniversary in Kaduna on Saturday.

The event held at the Hamdala Hotel, Kaduna and attended by top Kaduna state government officials, top rank academics and the cream of northern political leadership was chaired by Professor Khalifa Dikwa.

Those honoured included Dr. Dauda Lawal Dare, a philanthropist, industrialist and high-flying Zamfara politician who bagged the Politics Today Man of the Year 2019 Award and  Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko,

Others were Senator-elect Uba Sani, entrepreneur and educationist Sagir Hamidu (Sarkin Rafin Gusau) and Senator Bala Ibn Na’Allah from Kebbi state.

Responding on behalf of the award recipients, Dr Dare said he was impressed by the concept of the of the Politics Today as an added voice for the North which has been grossly underreported.

He described the effort at establishing and sustaining the online portal as noble and commendable though not as simple as it may seem.

Earlier Professor Kabiru Mato, a top Kaduna government official observed that publishers of the online portal need to be supported and encouraged while promising assistance “at individual and group levels” to strengthen the based of the newspaper.

Nasir Dambatta, veteran journalist, founder and publisher of Politics Today in his remarks traced the concept of the newspaper and expressed delight that in just one year of its debut, it has attracted more than 100,000 followership, while making significant impact in the “fight against fake news”.

About James Ezema

The Street Reporters Newspaper is published by The Street Resources and Media International and has become Nigeria's fastest growing grassroots and national news portal, with ever increasing reading audience across global communities. Do you have Breaking News for us? Office: Call/WhatsApp: +2348175047979 Email: Read Breaking News: Follow Us On: Instagram: Facebook: Twitter: @StreetReporters

Leave a Reply