Hazard Misses Out as Manchester United’s Pogba Named in Team of the Year

Spread the love

Manchester United midfielder Paul Pogba has been included in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year, while Chelsea’s Eden Hazard is a surprise omission in an XI dominated by Manchester City and Liverpool.


Pogba has endured an up-and-down season, having been out of the United team during Jose Mourinho’s final matches in charge before playing a starring role under Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.


Hazard, meanwhile, has scored 16 goals and assisted 13 in 34 Premier League appearances, scoring 19 in all competitions to match his most productive season in a Chelsea shirt.

POST RECOMMEND FOR YOU   China Donates N60 million Naira to Aisha Buhari's Pet Project


City goalkeeper Ederson was selected, while title challengers Liverpool provide three of the back four with Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil van Dijk and Andrew Robertson named alongside City’s Aymeric Lamport.


City, who have six players the lineup, had Fernandinho and Bernardo Silva chosen in midfield alongside Pogba – with Raheem Sterling and Sergio Aguero in attack.


Liverpool forward Sadio Mane completes the lineup, which is voted for by players.


City and Liverpool also dominate the PFA Players’ Player of the Year individual award, with Sterling, Van Dijk, Aguero, Mane and Silva shortlisted alongside Hazard.

POST RECOMMEND FOR YOU   Winding Up: Buhari Chairs Two-day FEC Meeting, Approves $1bn EXIM Bank Loan


Alexander-Arnold, Marcus Rashford, Declan Rice, David Brooks, Sterling and Silva have also been nominated for the PFA Young Player Award.


PFA Team of the Year: Ederson (Manchester City); Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool); Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Fernandinho (Manchester City), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City); Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Sadio Mane (Liverpool).

Also Read

Bauchi SSG Is New Emir of Misau The Secretary to Bauchi State Government, Alhaji Ahmed Suleiman, has emerged the new Emir of Misau in Bauchi State. The former Emir, HRH Doc Muhammadu...
Tribunal Nullifies Kaduna Lawmaker’s Electio... A National and State Assembly Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Kaduna, on Wednesday, nullified the election of Mrs Comfort Amwe of the Peoples’ D...
Recruitment Racketeering: Bad Day For Two Fake Nav... The Nigerian saying that everyday is for the thief and one day is for the owner may have come true for a fake Navy impostor in recruitment racket. Ne...
El-Zakzaky/Dasuki: Your are Lawessness – HUR... A prominent Pro-Democracy and Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO), Human Rights Writers Association of Nigeria (HURIWA) has lambasted the President Mu...
Why We Can’t Sit Outside Abuja – Tribu... The Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT) sitting in Abuja, on Thursday, blamed its inability to adjudicate on cases before it from outside Abuja on acute sh...

About Zaccheaus Dauda


Leave a Reply