Presidential Inauguration: Jonathan, Buhari Nominees Meet

Spread the love
President Goodluck Jonathan

President Goodluck Jonathan

In preparation for the May 29 handover and Presidential Inauguration, a joint committee of the outgoing and incoming government met on Thursday to discuss issues that will ensure a smooth transition.

The committee is co-chaired by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Pius Anyim, who represents the outgoing government, and former Bayelsa state Governor, Timipre Sylva, who leads the delegation of the incoming government.



General Muhammadu Buhari, Nigeria’s President-Elect

The terms of reference for the Presidential Inauguration Planning Committee include drawing up the programme of activities for the inauguration ceremony; arranging invitation and accommodation of local and foreign dignitaries; drawing up budget for the programme of activities; organising the approved programme of activities; and co-opting into subcommittees persons that may be necessary to assist the committees.

According to Premium Times, members of the Anyim led committee include; Chief of Defence, Air Chief Marshall, Alex Badeh; Ministers of the Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed, Water Resources, Sarah Ochekpe, Aviation, Osita Chidoka, Culture, Tourism and National Orientation, Edem Duke, Lands, Housing and Urban Development, Akon Eyakenyi, Foreign Affairs, Aminu Wali, Interior, Abba Moro, office of National Security Adviser, Bello Fadile, IGP Solomon Aresa, Minister of State Defence, Austin Akobundu, Commander Brigades of Guards, A. B. Omozoje, and Mrs. Ibukun Odusote, Permanent Secretary, Presidency (Office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation).

Members of incoming government are Timipre Sylva, (co-chairman), Pius Akinyelure, Abike Dabiri-Erewa, Sharon Ikeazor, Tony Anwuka, Kawu Baraje, John Shagaya, Hadiza Bala-Usman, Babagana Kingibe, Ismaila Funtua, Senator Binta Masi Garba, Babachir Lawal and Samson Osagie.

Speaking to journalists at the Presidential Villa, Mr. Anyim said the committee has planned a one-week programme of activity.

They include press briefing, Jumat prayers, inter-denominational church service, inauguration dinner, swearing-in ceremony, and a gala night.

Also Read

Uncertainties Trail DSS “Withdrawal” F... The Department of State Security (DSS) operatives that had laid siege at the residence of former National Security Adviser (NSA), Col. Sambo Dasuki (r...
Dysfunctional Card Readers: We’re Vindicated... Olisa Metuh The ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has said reports of challenges with the use of voter card readers across Nigeria have vindic...
Buhari Moves To Crackdown On Opposition Voices On ... There are indications that darker days may be ahead for Nigeria as the President Muhammadu Buhari-led Federal Government may have perfected plans to r...
Ondo 2016: Akeredolu is APC Governorship Flagbeare... Mr. Rotimi Akeredolu (SAN) has emerged the candidate of the All Progressives Congress for the November 26 governorship electionIn in Ondo State. He d...
Kogi: INEC Concludes Governorship Election Decembe... Following the inconclusiveness of the last Saturday’s governorship election in Kogi State, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Tue...

POST RECOMMEND FOR YOU   Ministerial List: How Obasanjo, Tinubu Scheme Over Appointments

About The Street Reporters

The Street Reporters Newspaper is Nigeria's fastest growing grassroots and national news portal, with ever increasing reading audience across global communities. Do you have Breaking News for us? Call/WhatsApp: +2348175047979 Email: Read Breaking News: Follow Us On: Instagram: Facebook: Twitter: @StreetReporters Android APP: Play Store

Leave a Reply