The Biggest Football Competition in Africa Starts this Friday in Egypt

The 32nd biennial event showpiece will be hosted by Egypt. It would be recalled that Cameroon was the initial host but CAF  substituted Cameroon with Egypt as the former couldn’t meet up with the expected facilities needed to host a big event as the AFCON.

This edition is particularly novel because (1) it is taking place in June as against January which used to cause country vs club row.(2)it desires 24 teams for the first time to accommodate more countries. So,starting from June 21 to July 19,the four cities in Egypt will play host to best of African football. The cities are: Cairo, Ismailia, Alexandra and Suez.

This special series on the AFCON 2019 takes a lot at the historical facts,the participating teams,players to watchnout for and the likely winners.


* Egypt won the first edition in 1957.

*Ghana’s Charles K.Gyamfi was the first coach to win three times.

*Hassan Shehata of Egypt is the only man to have won on three consecutive occasions. 2006,2008 and 2010.

*Egypt has the most wins (7) and they boast the record of being the only team to have it on 3 consecutive occasions.

*Nerve Renard of France is the only man to have won with two different countries. Zambia in 2012 and Ivory coast in 2015.

*Hossam Hassan of Egypt in 2006  became the oldest scorer in AFCON history. He did it at 39 years and174 days old.

*Shiva N’zigou of Gabon in 2010 at 16 Yeats and 93 days old became the youngest scorer.

*Samuel Eto’o Fils is the highest all time scorer with 18 goals.He achieved this from 2000-2010 with the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon. Ivorian Laurent Pokou held the record for many years.

* Egypt goalkeeper, Essam El Hadary became the oldest player at 44 years and 21 days to feature in the AFCON in the 2017 final against Cameroon. He was on the losing side though.

*Nigeria holds the record of most semi finals appearances. 14 out of 19 participations.

A: Egypt ,DR Congo, Uganda, Zambia. Qualifiers: Egypt and Zambia.

B: Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi.
Qualifiers: Nigeria and Zambia.

C: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania.
Qualifiers: Senegal and Algeria.

D: Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Namibia.
Qualifiers: Ivory Coast, and  Morocco.

E: Tunisia, Mali, Mauretania ,Angola.
Qualifiers: Tunisia and Mali.

F: Cameroon ,Ghana, Benin, Guinea Bissau.
Qualifiers: Ghana and Cameroon.


Egypt: Mohammed Salah, Ahmed Hegazi, Ahmed El Mohamady, Mohammed Elneny

Senegal: Sadio Mane,Kalidou Koulibaly,Idrissa Gana Gueye, Keita Balde,Ismaila Sarr.

Ghana: Kwado Asamoah, Thomas Partey, Andre Ayew, Jordan Ayew.
Jordan Ayew.

Morocco: Hakim Ziyech, Achraf Hakimi ,Medhi Banatia.

Ivory Coast: Serge Aurier, Nicola Pepe, Wilfred Zaha.

Guinea: Naby Keita,Thieve Bifoumi.

Nigeria: Wilfred Ndidi,Ahmed Musa, Alex Iwobi, Odion Ighalo.

Algeria: Riyad Mahrez.

Cameroon: Andre Onana, Kana- Biyik.

Final Verdict: The winner is still expected to come from the pool of previous winners. Debutants like Madagascar, Burundi and Mauretania can push their luck far but it can’t be farther from the second round.

Egypt has the record winner of this tournament will be the team other nations would love to avoid. With a vociferous and partisan crowd behind them,the Sallah inspired team will go all out to clinch the trophy for the 8th time. Don’t forget that Egypt has hosted the AFCON before now 4 times( most host) and won 3 times. Who says they can’t do it again as the pain of losing the 2017 finals to Cameroon still hurt them.

Senegal on paper looks the most balanced team with an array of great players from top clubs in Europe. Sadio Mane and Kalidou Koulibaly ‘ K2’ are expected the motivate the Teranga Lions to go for their first AFCON victory.

Nigeria had missed out on two consecutive editions before now. The last time we participated, 2013,we won. The boys can thus be confident of that fact. The young talents in the team such as Ndidi, Chukweze, Onyekuru are expected to compliment the experience of captain John Obi Mikel,Ahmed Musa, Alex Iwobi and Odion Ighalo.

One thing is clear, whichever country that would lift the trophy aloft come July 19 would be worthy winners as the competition promises to be the most keenly contested ever in its 32 years history.

About Seye Akamu-Bode

The Street Reporters Newspaper is Nigeria's fastest growing grassroots and national news portal, with ever increasing reading audience across global communities. Do you have Breaking News for us? Call/WhatsApp: +2348175047979 Email: Read Breaking News: Follow Us On: Instagram: Facebook: Twitter: @StreetReporters Android APP: Play Store